Goodbye July – Hello August

July has come and gone, so it is time for another wrap up… This was a great reading month for me, with 10 books read and a total page count of 3206. The first week of July my fiancé was still on this side of the world, and we finished up our buddy read. After he left I still had a few days off, and I made good use of those. Not only did I manage to pick up a lot of books, I really liked most of them… I picked up four 4* reads, and another four 5* reads! I also managed to put up quite a few reviews, something that has been a bit lacking the past few months. And I received my first mean comment 😛 Can I now officially hang out with the big kids? Anyway, without further ado… let’s go to the books.


white wolf

White Wolf was my first book by David Gemmell, and I am sad to say I didn’t like it all that much. I didn’t care for the characters, the pacing was off, there was quite a bit of unnecessary sex… I ended up giving it a 2* rating, and wrote a full review on it. I read this together with my fiancé, who gave it a 3* rating, and also wrote a review.

Sherlock 5

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is one of my favourite Sherlock Holmes stories. It is not a miracle that the BBC Sherlock series made such a good episode based on this book, seeing as the source material is just brilliant. A 5* rating from me…

moonlocket

Moonlocket by Peter Bunzl is the sequel to Cogheart, and is in my opinion even better. This is just a great middlegrade story, which can be enjoyed by readers of all ages. And can we just take a moment to appreciate that cover? … Thank you. Another 5* rating from me, and I wrote a full review on it so feel free to check that out.

The end of the Day

The End of the Day by Claire North tells the story of the Harbinger of Death. I was very hesitant to pick this book up, not sure if I was in the mood to read something sad… it wasn’t sad at all though. This book is a celebration of life, and filled with stories of interesting people. It was quite beautiful. My only negative point on it is that it didn’t have a plot. So therefore I gave it a 4* rating, and once again, I wrote a review on it.

kings of the wyld

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames is a book I was definitely not in the mood for though. I feel like I could really like this, but all the silliness was just not for me this month. I haven’t given it a rating as of yet, and will probably not do so until I have reread it at a different time.

annihilation

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer is a book that has been on my TBR way to long, so I was over the moon when my Goodreads group decided to pick this as July read. I enjoyed this a whole lot. I connected with the main character and the atmosphere was amazing. However, no answers whatsoever were given, and I feel like this would have worked better if one reads all the three books in the series back to back. I gave it a 4* rating, and feel free to check out my review for it.

the throne of fire

The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan is the second book in the Kane Chronicles, and once again a solid read. It was full of all the things one can expect from Rick Riordan’s books, minus some of the over the top silliness (which for me was very good). What did annoy me though was Sadie’s constant obsession with two guys… But it still deserved a 4* rating in my opinion.

And then there were none

And then there were none is probably Agatha Christie’s most well known work, and it deserves all the praise. It tells the story of 10 people who are stuck on an island as one by one they are murdered… it is as simple as that, but executed brilliantly. A 5* rating from me, and I wrote a full review on it.

murder in mesopotamia

Murder in Mesopotamia is another story by Agatha Christie, and even though the characters, atmosphere and writing were once again excellent, I found it a bit lacking on the mystery side. Therefore I gave it a 4* rating, and feel free to check out my review.

the immorality engine

The Immorality Engine is the third book in George Mann’s Newbury and Hobbes series. This series just gets better with every book. This story was great, haunting, slightly grotesque and just a really good steampunk, mystery novel set in Victorian London (with a very big role for the queen herself). I gave this a 5* rating, and a review will come up very soon.


So overall, July was an excellent reading month for me and I have high hopes for August. I am planning to pick up The Executioner’s Heart, the fourth book in the Newbury and Hobbes series. I will also be listening to The Blue Blazes by Chuck Wendig (I can’t find a physical copy of this book anywhere 😦 ). I will do a buddy read of Around the World in 80 Days together with my fiancé. We read Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea last year, so it is time for another journey with Jules Verne. I would also like to finally pick up Pride and Prejudice, and I will try to reread Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones. My Goodreads group has picked The Rook by Daniel O’Malley as this months read, so if I find time I will pick this one up as well. If by some miracle the month is not over yet after all these reads, I have also got The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling and The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke ready to be read.

I hope you have a wonderful day,

4 thoughts on “Goodbye July – Hello August

  1. Ohhh, a mean comment! Did you keep it around as a memento or delete it?

    Thankfully I haven’t had any illegitimate rats comment on my blog, at least not in a year or two. I figure I must be saving up for one really BAAAAAAAD one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was on goodreads, and yes I kept it 😋 apparently I obviously didnt get the point of Gemmell, and I should stick to comic books… I looked up the guys profile, he has read 30 books, of which 20 by Gemmell (all of which he gave 5*). Anything that wasnt by this author got a standard 3* (including Harry Potter, Narnia, 1984, Lord of the Rings…). After seeing that I could only just laugh at him.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahhh, goodreads. “You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy.”

        Glad it wasn’t any worse than it was. Sometimes those people can turn downright vicious…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

