June Bookhaul!!!

I very rarely post bookhauls on here, mainly because I don’t get/buy a lot of books in one go… but last month was quite special. A lot of things happened, due to which I ended up with 24 new books, of which only 1 I payed for myself. First of all, I finished my internship (and received a goodbye present). My fiancé came over for a visit. It was my birthday. And lastly, I graduated. And this is the ‘damage’:

Bookhaul


The Shadow of What Was Lost is the first book in the Licanius Trilogy by James Islington. I know very little about this book, apart from that it was originally released by an independent publisher, to later be rereleased by Orbit. Oh, and it is supposed to be a great book… but that is the case for all the books in this haul.

The Magician’s Guild and The Novice are the first two books in the Black Magician trilogy by Trudi Canavan. These are that kind of books you see around a lot and want to pick up some day but there are so many other books you also want to read… my fiancé decided to make a change in that and got me the first book for my birthday (after which I got the second book from a gift voucher).

Knight’s Shadow and Saint’s Blood are book two and three in the Greatcoats series by Sebastien de Castell. I read the first book in this series, Traitor’s Blade, in October last year (and posted a review on it). I enjoyed this book and want to continue with the rest of the series, but wasn’t in a hurry to do so (mainly because of one weird sex scene…) but again, my fiancé decided to make a change in that.

Sherlock Holmes vs. Cthulhu by Lois H. Gresh I bought myself after a few beer, purely based on the title. I have no clue what this story is about, and I don’t really care. All I need to know is that it is a Sherlock Holmes adaptation, and that Cthulhu is in it.

The Looking Glass House is written by Vanessa Tait, who is the great-granddaughter of the Alice who was the inspiration for Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. My fiancé knows me too well, because one, that fact, and two, that cover, makes me definitely want to read this book. So I got it as a graduation present (I know, he spoiled me way too much).

Jackaby is the first book in the Jackaby series by William Ritter. It is sold as ‘Sherlock Holmes meets Doctor Who’…. so that is all I need to know.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie I have already read as an ebook and liked well enough (3*). Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson I have also read already as an ebook for a buddy read with my fiancé (and we have written a review for it, 3.5*). The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling is another of those classics I know the story of (thank you Disney), but would like to read the original. Also, they look pretty on by bookshelf next to my other Puffin Classics.

The Bromeliad is a bind up of the whole trilogy, and Only you can save mankind, Johnny and the dead and Johnny and the bomb are all three books in the Johnny Maxwell series, all by Terry Pratchett. My fiancé and I are both huge fans of his books, so he brought these along on his visit for me to keep safe on my shelf (and to read, of course…)

Earlies this year I read Murder on the Orient Express, and loved it (see my review, 5*), so I decided to pick up some more Agatha Christie. And then there were none I already finished, and again loved it. My review for that will be up soon. I also picked up Murder in Mesopotamia which I will be reading very soon. My brother got me Animal Farm by George Orwell for my birthday, which I actually haven’t read yet (I know, shame on me).

Broken Homes is the fourth book in the Peter Grant series by Ben Aaronovitch, which is a series I should really continue because I loved the previous books (see my review for Whispers Underground, 5*).

Murder is the second book in the Dr. Thomas Bond series by Sarah Pinborough. I really liked the first book, Mayhem (see my review, 4*), and would love to continue the series. Also, I cannot find a picture of the copy I have…

The Serpent’s Shadow is the third book in the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan. I have written a review on the first book, Red Pyramid, which I gave a 4* rating. I am currently halfway the second book, The Throne of Fire. And now I can continue right away with the final book in the series 😀

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke is a book I read a long time ago (think 15 years ago), but I remember loving it. Its about a group of street urchins who pick pockets in Venice. What is not to love about it. I really want to reread this book, I had a gift voucher… so I got it.

His Majesty’s Dragon is the first book in the Temeraire series by Naomi Novik. I read this as an ebook earlier this year and liked it. I wrote a review on it, and why I gave it a 3* rating. This book showed a lot of potential for the rest of the series, and I do plan on picking up the second book fairly soon.

The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey is another book I read as an ebook earlier this year. I really liked this book (4*, see my review), so I wanted a physical copy of it. Also, that yellow cover/spine looks awesome on my shelf.


I won’t have to buy new books anytime soon… Let me know if you have read any of these books and which I should pick up first (I want to read them all right now!!! So much choice).

I hope you are having a lovely day,

6 thoughts on “June Bookhaul!!!

  1. I can’t wait for a review of Holmes vs Cthulhu [for the record, I had to copy/paste that name. I STILL can’t spell it if my life depended on it].

    I hope it is as fun as it sounds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

